Malawi national football team coach Mario Mariani Marinica has named a squad of 23 players for the COSAFA tournament to take place in South Africa from 5-17 July.

Malawi is in group B together with Lesotho, Eswatini and Mauritius.

Marinica has included in the squad veteran and experienced players in captain Christopher John Banda, Enerst Kakhobwe, Chiukepo Msowoya, Gabadinho Mhango and Khuda Muyaba.

The Romanian has also trusted youngsters in goalkeeper Clever Mkungula, Patrick Mwaungulu and Blessings Mpokela while defender Precious Sambani returns to the team after missing the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals due to injury.

The rest of the squad is as follows:


Clever Mkungula 

Ernest Kakhobwe



Gomezgani Chirwa 

Blessings Mpokera 

Precious Sambani

Sakhani Mkandawire 

Stanley Sanudi 

Dan Chimbalanga 

Kelvin Kadzinje 



Christopher John Banda (C)

Patrick Mwaungulu 

Chimwemwe Idana 

Yamikani Chester

Micium Mhone 

Chikoti Chirwa 

Schumacher Kuwali 

Peter Banda

Paul Ndlovu 



Chiukepo Msowoya 

Khuda Myaba 

Lloyd Njaliwa

Gabadinho Mhango

Stain Davie